Love, Joy, Peace...
HISTORY OF RUHL'S CHURCH
Ruhl's Began As A House Church
Ruhl's Church began as a House Church about 1839. The house is on the Kline farm and to the right after you cross the Big Chickies Creek going north. The early founders of the church were John and Philip Ruhl. In this house, services were conducted by appointed preachers traveling the Lancaster Circuit. Both Philip and John Ruhl were strong Gospel preachers. Services were conducted every six weeks at first and later monthly. By the time the first church was erected, services were held on alternate weeks. During the summer, services were often conducted in the barn. Harvest meetings drew large congregations from the community. By the year 1867 the class member had grown to 45 and since preparing the house for worship entailed much extra work, and other churches in the community had places used for worship only, the Ruhl's class gave serious thought to the erection of a special place of worship.
First Church Building Erected
Getting involved is a great way to grow in faith and build meaningful relationships. Whether through serving on a team, joining a small group, or participating in community activities, there are many opportunities to connect. We invite you to take the next step and experience the joy of being part of a vibrant church family.
Additions To The First Church

Pastor
An Annex Was Built in 1950
Youth Pastor
A Parsonage Was Built. Sunday School Was Held In The Basement
Ruhl's Church Relocated In 1958
A new church building built on the present site was completed in April of 1958 with approximately 350 membership. It was made possible by a donation of $25,000 from Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Brubaker and a $25,000 annunity. In 1968, the General Conference again merged the Evangelical United Brethren and the Methodist Churches, thus our name became Ruhl's United Methodist Church. At present our church is in the process of leaving the UMC through the methodology of litigation. We are now known as Ruhl's Church.
Additions To The Church Building

Pastor
New Main Entrance And Carport
Youth Pastor
Gymnasium / Fellowship Hall
Ruhl's Church As It Looks Today
image
 
Ruhl's Church

4810 Elizabethtown Rd. Manheim, PA 17545

717-665-3400 Email office@ruhlschurch.org
 
Copyright © 2025 | Powered by churchtrac